​Karma is a b*tch!

I have heard these words being used so many times before but when you are in that state of mind you forget that you once went through a difficult time.  You forget how you felt when you were in a tough situation others find themselves in.

How come is it that we find comfort in other people’s misery?

Have we as a human race become so selfish that we have lost our sense of humanity? Have we lost our empathy towards other people?

I was given an opportunity to ask myself these questions as I watched someone go through something that I didn’t even know how I would have handled it if I was the one in that situation.

At first I was glad I was not part of the problem. I was glad to not be the one going through it. I was ecstatic as I thought finally they were getting what they deserved because of how they treated me.

Then I was reminded of a quote that I heard in church yesterday

I have a word for you. I know your whole life story. I know every skeleton in your closet. I know every moment of sin, shame, dishonesty and degraded love that has darkened your past. Right now I know your shallow faith, your feeble prayer life, your inconsistent discipleship. And my word is this: I dare you to trust that I love you just as you are, and not as you should be. Because you’re never going to be as you should be. Do you believe that he loves you? Brennan Manning

The answer to that question is , yes I do.

What came to mind after I read that and as  I  looked at this person was no matter what happened, that person was loved as much as I am loved.

Then why would I want them to be unhappy? Why would I want them to suffer because of what they had done to me in the past?

So I decided to put myself in their shoes for a moment. When I did that my mind shifted and I started to see what I could do to help them through the situation they were in.

I needed them to know that they  have my support and I understood what they were going through.

Please note this is not the first time I have had these thoughts. I am grateful for the constant reminder of what I still need to work on. I am a work in progress.

Until next time

K

