Dear God

It is the 1st of September, the beginning of Spring. The winter season  is behind us. Spring is known as a season of new beginnings. I was watching a television program when I heard this quote and knew it reflected what I felt and witnessed during the week.

“Spring shows what God can do with a drab and dirty world.” – Virgil A. Kraft

The quote reminded me of what I had gone through the last couple of days. I was feeling low and lost  but you were there every step of the way. You were watching over me and guiding my steps. You protected me even though I was rebellious towards you and your word. You loved me even though I had rebuked you. You showed me the way even though I did not know where I was supposed to go.

I remember the tears I cried , frustrated by the situations I found myself in and  telling you how tired I was. I was ready to give up but you gave me the courage to lift myself up and carry on. You reminded me of the people who came before me, who have come out of difficult situations and achieved more for themselves. You reminded me of the strength I have to overcome what I was going through and the ability to strive.

You believed in me even though I did not believe in myself.

So many times I come to you for my own selfish reasons or to complain about how long you are taking to give me what I think I need.

Today is different. Today I wanted to acknowledge your presence during this week.

I wanted to take this opportunity to say thank you.

Thank you for your patience and love.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to apologise for my sins and knowing that I am already forgiven.

Thank you for giving me a chance to rest when I was tired and giving me the opportunity to see a brand new day and start afresh.

Thank you for lending an ear and holding me tight when I felt alone and rejected.

Thank you for reminding me of whose I was and how important I am to you and what I was born to do.

Thank you for giving my strength back to focus on what I needed to do and giving me the energy to do the work.

Thank you for giving me back the joy of laughter. I caught myself laughing and thought how much I had missed the joy in my voice.

Thank you for being my hope through the storm.

Your word says in Deuteronomy 31:8

“Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord will personally go ahead of you. He will be with you, he will neither fail you not abandon you.”

I can acknowledge your presence this week Lord. You kept your promise of not abandoning me and I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Yours

K

