My phone rang and I knew who it was on the other end. It was time to wake up. 

I thanked him for the wake up call and sat on the couch for 30 minutes scanning the internet for news I had missed out on  the night before.

I got ready and left the house for the start of the day. As I was driving I remembered that there was a package I needed to collect and I wondered if I will make it on time to collect it. 

Shortly after collecting it I arrived at my destination. I opened the gate and realised that I was not the first person to arrive. I parked the car and walked into the building. I greeted him as I turned on the lights in the other rooms. I put my bag in the drawer and took the coffee he had prepared for me.

We stood outside and caught up on what we did over the holidays. After our coffee break  I went into the workshop to take out all the computers that were put away over the holidays.

I was happy to be there as I had felt stuck sitting at home. I was bored,  grateful to be out and doing something different from my regular routine.

I turned on my computer and waited for everyone to arrive.

The gate opened and I could hear their voices from where I was sitting. I stood up and greeted everyone, wishing them a wonderful year and we spoke about what had happened at an event they worked on over the holidays.

He arrived later. I gave him some time before I went to talk to him. After he had settled down he called us into his office to discuss what was pending and what we could do to make this year different from the previous one. We sat there for a while and then returned to our desks.

The rest of the day I was busy with so many tasks that it felt like I had never left. 

By the end of the day I had completed the work I was assigned to.

I turned off the lights in the office and locked the door behind me. 

I had survived my first day back at work.  

