I was in high school when I first came across the world of books. It was not easy for me to make friends and the only way I could pass time was being in the school library. I remember the first author I picked, Danielle Steele. It did not occur to me at the time to think about writing, mainly because it was not a profession that was spoken about.

Life at the time meant that you finish high school, go to university, get a degree and find a job in the industry you studied for.

I did not know what I wanted to do when I finished high school. I took a gap year which turned to four years. Everyone asked me what I wanted to do with my life , I could not give an answer. I saw my peers going to university furthering their studies.

During my time at home, my younger sister finished high school and knew what she wanted to study. She had enrolled and was leaving me at the end of the year. I was wasting time, sitting at home and doing nothing. The one thing that did not change was my love of books.  I would catch a taxi to town, go to the library and get books on loan. I would wake up in the morning, clean the house and sit the whole day stuck in a world of a book I was reading.

For four years I lived this way until my older sister couldn’t stand it any longer. She told me to look at potential colleges that offered 1year diplomas to get a skill that will help me find a job.

I studied a secretarial diploma where I learned computer studies. A year after I finished my diploma I started working for a company as an office administrator.

I was in the job for two and a half years when I was offered a new job in a different industry.

During these 10 years I have collected and read different genres by different authors. I still had not thought about writing until I was invited to a dinner with an author. The author was Susan Newham – Blake  and her book titled Making Finn. My sister was seated on my right hand side and I had a publicist on my left.

I began a conversation with the publicist and asked her what advise she could give a person who is interested in writing.   She gave me different options when I could not give her a straight answer about the kind of writer I wanted to be.

Blogging was the first thing that came out of her mouth. She said it was an upcoming thing which seemed to be popular on the net. 

 I had another opportunity to sit at a table with a famous journalist and author who had different advise for me. He said I had to read a lot and start writing. It did not matter what I was writing as long as I learned and improved my craft every day.

Reading was not a problem for me. Writing was. Doubt and fear stopped me immediately. I made excuses why I could not write. Please do not get me wrong, I did write but in my journals. Those were my comfort zone. I did not have to worry about grammar or what I had to say. I did not have to worry about whether or not people would like my work.

I started blogging a few years ago and stopped because there were times I did not know what to write about,  and I was overwhelmed by the number of blogs out there.

I doubted myself and compared myself to others. Something inside of me could not stop and urged me to continue writing. This time though I told myself I would do it differently.

I did not tell anyone I know I was starting a new blog because I did not want to put myself under pressure, by knowing someone is waiting on me to deliver a post.

I would work on my own pace, put some time in the work before I posted it.

Unfortunately this did not last as I had a conversation with someone yesterday, who did not believe I was doing anything to change my life or improve it.

I calmly mentioned to her that the only thing I want to do now, was to concentrate on my writing. I did not want to share with her what I was working on but she understood. I did not want to share with her because she gets frustrated at the pace I do things.

***

The dictionary meaning of the word timely is:

Happening at exactly the right time.

I do not believe that it was a coincidence that in high school I would be introduced to an author who gave me a passion on books which led to a passion of writing.

I do not believe it was a coincidence that I had to have that conversation yesterday. Sometimes God sends us people to give us a message. I was angry at her to think that I did not care about my life. I thought she was nagging me but now I understand what she was trying to say.

I want to become a writer. I acknowledge it now. There will be days where I do not feel like writing the story. Days where I will write something that is not even going to be published and that is okay. As long as I keep on doing what I need to do to fulfill my dream,  which is to become a writer .

The time is now.

