​My choice for this week’s  #WCW is radio and tv personality Anele Mdoda.

Anele was born in Mthatha in the Eastern Cape where she spent the first six years of her life, spent two years in Polokwane and then moved to Pretoria.

She began her radio career as a DJ at the University of Pretoria in 2004, where she was studying politics and international relations.

She was hired by Jo’burg radio station Highveld FM in 2007.

Anele’s star has continued to rise. She has breached out into TV, now hosting her own daily talk show, RealTalk with Anele  on SABC3.

As of April 2017,  Anele moved from the afternoon drive to the breakfast slot.

This is what she had to say about the move

“After five years on 947’s drive show, I am honoured to take the challenge of the breakfast show. My first big radio break was at 947 and I am thankful to management for believing in me and giving me this opportunity. The station, and the breakfast show in particular, is home to radio royalty with personalities like Darren Simpson, who has continued to evolve the breakfast show and create radio magic. I know that he’s going to be a tough act to follow. Radio is and always will be a very personal platform and I am driven by the  connection I have with my listeners. I will always work hard to deliver content that evokes emotion, makes people laugh and gets them thinking. I am looking forward to the next part of this incredible journey on 947.”

On giving back: A friend of Anele shared a heartwarming post on instagram, where we found out that Anele bought her baby’s nanny / helper a car

xolisadyeshana – This is a post about the lady on the right of this photo.

Her name is Florence.

She used to work for Anele & I. She was our helper.

She was amazing. No, but really amazing.

In that time, she got herself a learners. Then a drivers.

Then her first car. An old Hyundai Elantra. 

She loved it. And was so proud. So were we.

Then Anele had a baby. And we agreed she would hire Flo full time. 

I was sad. But happy for Flo. She had a full time job.

Then she helped Anele raise Alakhe.

And they were like one big happy family. Anele, Alakhe & Flo.

Then Anele took her to Cape Town & Durban. Her first time. 

Then Croatia. Then Paris. Then Monaco.

And even New York. 

Must be nice. Very nice. 

Then the other day I found out something amazing.

Anele bought her a freaking A3.

How awesome?

Apparently she was the woMAN when she went home in Dec. 

Big up Aneezy.

But more big up to the lady on the right of this picture.

Florence. 

The one who teaches us all that no matter what your past, through hard work, dedication and passion you can always change your future. 🙏

P.S In my next lifetime I want to work for Anele. 🙂

